Take Ursula Goff (or @uggoff on Instagram) who made us do a double-take when we saw her recent art painting color series and her incredible ode to rainbow hair colors that she showcases on her page from her clients and on her own hair.

	Ursula Goff Interview on Rainbow Hair Colors	

As a hair colorist, Goff is an innovator in the field, she has an eye for the use of bold colors that looks remarkable on hair. Read on to check out our recent interview with Goff about rainbow hair colors and more!

All Things Hair: What was the first hair color you ever tried?

Ursula Goff: I attempted to give myself a green streak of hair with Kool-Aid when I was about 12 or 13. I dyed all of it burgundy a year or so later after many other unsuccessful attempts with Kool-Aid, food coloring, and markers.

What attracted you to trying color?

I like pretty much everything in my life to be colorful. That had been my preference as far back as I can remember.

What is your favorite hair color to wear?

This is a tough question because I don’t have a favorite color. But, I find that I can keep auburn/red or blue hair for longer periods of time than other colors; I don’t get tired of them as quickly.

How do you take care of your hair in-between the hair dyeing process?

I only shampoo it once a week since my hair is very dry and coarse; more often than that aggravates the frizz and makes it harder to control. I typically use Bed Head by TIGI Recovery Shampoo and Bed Head by TIGI Recovery Conditioner. For instance, I leave a little bit of the conditioner in my hair to weigh it down some. I then apply argan oil and/or coconut oil to my hair while it’s still wet. I typically will let it air-dry before I style it. With my hair being so textured, I find that the less I mess with it, the better off it is. I usually style it with a 1.25-inch curling iron the day after I wash it, and then it will hold that style till I wash it again, with few or no touch-ups needed. The huge advantage of textured hair – it easily holds style for days!

How long does the hair painting process take?

The hair paintings take anywhere from a few hours to 10-12 hours for the larger, more complex ones. Although I have a new concept I’ve been working on with Philip Ring (@phildoeshair on Instagram) that may give me a lot more detail in much less time. I’ll be sure to share that once we get it perfected!

What’s your favorite way to wear your hair when you’re not working?

I almost always keep it curled, like how I described above. It’s just easier to deal with that way; I can actually brush it if I want to and it stays nice looking with almost no effort. Looking for more rainbow hair colors to try? Check out more about the hidden rainbow hair trend.

5 Minutes with Ursula Goff  Queen of Rainbow Hair Colors - 67